The New York State Art Teachers Association (NYSATA) is a non-profit professional organization founded in 1948 for the purpose of advancing the cause of art education by

  • stimulating interest in the study of art in public, private and parochial schools and colleges in the state of New York
  • developing sensitivity to and encouraging participation in the visual art
  • securing wider recognition of the vital importance of education through art
  • encouraging carry-over of school art education into the artistic, social and home life of the individual
  • fostering professional growth and leadership among the members of the organization
  • voicing our concerns with regard to policies and legislation that effect art education
  • eliminating descrimination and cultivating values of equity, diversity and inclusion
  • promoting equal access, opportunity, and voice across groups of people of diverse backgrounds and with diverse needs

Members include preschool through university level art educators, art administrators, museum educators, school administrators, school districts, commercial representatives, and friends and benefactors.

The New York State Art Teachers Association is made up of 10 Regions. Elected representatives from the ten regions and five elected state-level officers form the Board of Trustees, which is the decision-making body for NYSATA.

NYSATA Constitution alt updated April 2023

NYSATA Bylaws alt updated April 2013


NYSATA Regions by County

Region 1
Western Counties: Cattaraugus, Chatauqua, Erie, Genesee, Niagara, Orleans, and Wyoming

Region 2
Finger Lakes Counties: Allegany, Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Wayne, Seneca, Steuben, and Yates

Region 3
Central Counties: Cayuga, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Madison, Oneida, Onondaga, Oswego, and St. Lawrence

Region 4
Southern Counties: Broome, Chemung, Chenango, Cortland, Delaware, Otsego, Schuyler, Tioga, and Tompkins

Region 5
Adirondack Counties: Clinton, Essex, Franklin, and Hamilton

Region 6
Capital Eastern Counties: Schoharie, Albany, Columbia, Fulton, Greene, Montgomery, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Warren, and Washington

Region 7
Southern Counties: Duchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Sullivan, Ulster, and Westchester

Region 8
New York City Counties: New York, Bronx, Kings, Queens, Richmond

Region 9
Long Island Counties: Nassau

Region 10
Long Island Counties: Suffolk